Least Favourite/Worst Books of 2016

Not all books can make it to the favourites list.  In fact, some most claim the spot of least favourite.  Here are my husband Mitch and I’s least favourite books from 2016!

Jen’s Least Favourite Books:

#3: The Sight Hound by Pam Houston:  This book had great potential – it’s a story about finding love via your dog, but it’s the only book of the year that I did not finish.  The downfall of this book for me was that the author jumps from topic to topic so quickly that the flow of the story was poor.  It was just so all over the place that it gave me a headache!

#2: Percy Jackson and The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan:  This book was all action and no character development.  At least that’s how it felt to me.  I like to get to know a character well before they start their epic adventure, and because I didn’t get enough of the “getting to know you” part in this story, I found myself not caring about what happened to the main character.  I also did not enjoy the narrator for the audiobook, so it was more difficult to pay attention to the story!

#1: A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin:  I don’t care how popular this one is…I just can’t get into it!  Apart from there being too many characters to keep track of, I just didn’t like how much violence and politics there was.  I guess I’m used to lighter fantasies.  I also HATED the ending…it was so strange and seemed so out of place!

Mitch’s Least Favourite Books:

#3: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K Rowling:  Mitch loves the original Harry Potter stories and he says it wasn’t a content issue with this book, rather that he couldn’t get over the fact that it was written in script format.  He found it hard to get into, and felt like he was studying for school.  I also read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, and while it wasn’t one of my least favourite books of the year, I hated that some of the characters didn’t seem like themselves.  There were many times I felt like screaming out “So-and-so would NEVER say something like that!”  It was just too obvious that it wasn’t written by J.K. Rowling for me.

#2: Commando by James Owen:  A non-fictional WWII story about a group of men called the Comandos, Mitch had high hopes for this one but found it to progress much too slowly for his liking.

#1: Oh My Gods: A Modern Retelling of Greek and Roman Myths by Philip Freeman: The title says it all, but what Mitch wasn’t expecting was how much rape and domination was part of the roman myths.  He found it uncomfortable to read and did not finish it.

I wonder what books will make the list in 2017!

Cheers,

Jen from Habitat for Happiness

Leave a Reply

