Love-A-Thon 2017 Challenge #1- Mad Libs!

I’m participating in the Love-A-Thon book challenge for 2017!  For my introduction and to check out the wonderful hosts, click here! This challenge is hosted by The Daily Prophecy.

loveathon

Next up I’ve decided to take part in the Mini Challenge #1, which is a fun mad libs fairy tale story.  I used to LOVE doing mad libs as a kid!  Here it goes!

The promts:

1. LOCATION: farmyard

2. CHARACTER (example: assassin): hero

3. TYPE OF STORE: toy store

4. BODY PART (plural): eyeballs

5. ITEM: tofu

6. ROYALTY (any title you can think of): king’s joker

7. REPEAT ITEM FROM #5. tofu

8. ACTIVE VERB (example: running): crawling

9. ANOTHER LOCATION: zoo

10. AN EMOTION: curiousity

11. MUSICAL INSTRUMENT: musical triangle

12. PIECE OF FOOD: banana bread

13. NUMBER: 6

14. TYPE OF HOUSE: one story ranch

15. VOICE ADJECTIVE: quiet

16. DESCRIBE A SOUND (ending with –ing): squeaking

17. ROOM IN A HOUSE: beauty room

18. OBJECTS: pennies

19. DESCRIBE AN OUTFIT: a hufflepuff sweater and blue jeans

20. INFINITIVE VERB, activity : hiking

21. REPEAT MUSICAL INSTRUMENT from #11 : musical triangle

22. A JOB: optometrist

The Story!

Once upon a time, in a far away farm yard, there lived a smart hero. It lived alone in a toy store, where it had grown up with the deceased owner. It had beautiful eyeballs, and it was known for its shiny red tofu, the only thing it had left of its parents.

Alas, the king’s joker of the country became jealous and wanted to own this tofu. So, it became a wanted person and had to flee into the forest to find a place to hide. After crawling around for hours, hungry and tired, it stumbled upon a/an zoo. An old lady appeared, offering it shelter from the bitter cold. She looked at it with curiousity and said: “I will protect you, but I need your help first. Years ago I lost something precious and I want it back. You need to climb into the sky and get my musical triangle back. Here is a magical banana bread, throw it into the earth, sprinkle with water and it will sprout a beanstalk. You have 6 days to return before the stalk withers.”

It followed the instructions given to her, and lo and behold, a beanstalk grew and grew and grew all the way up to the clouds. After an exhausting climb, it saw a huge one story ranch. It walked to the door and knocked. A quiet voice said: ‘Fee-fi-fo-fum, who dares to come and enter my house?” It was not afraid and said: “My name is Jamie and I’ve come to collect an item.”

The door made a/an squeaking sound when it opened and revealed a large beauty room filled with golden pennies. It stepped inside and walked towards the spiraling staircase, where a figure moved, cloaked in darkness.

“Who are you? Step in to the light, so I can see your face.” The beast growled angry. “Why did you come here? I just want to be left alone.” Still, it moved and stood in front of it. There were three horns on his head, and hair all over his face and his mouth was filled with large teeth. He wore a hufflepuff sweater and blue jeans.

“What happened to you?” It reached out to touch one of the horns, but the beast flinched. “Many years ago I was cursed by a witch. I have one year left hiking so I can break the spell, but I’m not brave enough.”

“If you give me the musical triangle, I will help you.”

In keeping its promise, the beast and it worked for a few hours and that afternoon, the beast transformed into an ordinary older guy. “I can’t wait to return to my job as Optometrist in the normal world. Can I come with you?” Together they climbed down the beanstalk, carrying the instrument for the old lady. The moment she saw the guy and her beloved instrument, she started to weep.

“My husband, you have returned!” They hugged and looked at it.

“We have to tell you something,” the old lady said. “You are our child. We were separated after the curse, but now we are reunited!” From that day, the three of them lived together in the forest, happily ever after.

The End

How fun!

Cheers, Jennie


3 thoughts on “Love-A-Thon 2017 Challenge #1- Mad Libs!

Leave a Reply

