Love-A-Thon 2017 Challenge #8: On the Road (Trip)

loveathon

Hosted by The Novel Hermit

It’s the final challenge of the Love-A-Thon, and while I wasn’t planning on doing all of the challenges, but I did!  I was just having too much fun not to get involved!  For the final challenge, I’ll be changing the rules a little bit…but you’ll see why in a second:

  • Rules: Let’s go on a road trip! Pick 3-4 people—fictional characters, readers/bloggers, authors—you’d love to take on this road trip; a place you’re headed towards like Disneyland, Grand Canyon, Martha’s Vineyard, etc; and what you’ll be doing on this road trip, like topics of discussion, who’s driving, who’s in charge of the road trip music, etc.

OK, so I’m taking a real life road trip across Canada this summer!

My husband, Mitch, and I will be taking a whole month off of work and driving from Ontario to Vancouver Island, British Columbia!  We’ll be camping along the way and visiting my sister once we reach Alberta. I AM SO PUMPED!  So instead of choosing a fictional character and planning a fictional road trip, I’m going to choose my husband (and dog Toby) and plan for my real life road trip!

Our Itinerary:

blogtrip1.png

Day 1: Drive from home to Sudbury, Ontario

Day 2: Neys Provincial Park, Thunder Bay, ON

Day 3: Ignace, ON

Day 4: Spruce Woods Provincial Park, South Cypress, Manitoba

Day 5: The Battlefords Provincial Park, Cochin, Saskatchewan

Day 6: My sister’s home in Alberta where we will stay 5 night!

Day 11: Jasper National Park, AB. Camp 2 nights!

Day 13: Banff National Park, AB. Campt 2 nights!

Day 15: Vancouver,British Columbia

Day 16: Mussel Beach Wilderness Campground, Alberni-Clayoquot C, BC. Camp 3 nights!

Day 19: Head Home!

blogtrip2

Day 19: Vancouver Island, BC to Lac Le Jeune, Logan, BC

Day 20: Drumheller, AB

Day 21: Kilton Hill Campground, Swift Current, SK

Day 22: Swift Current, SK to Grunthal, MB

Day 23: Sleeping Giant Provincial Park, Pass Lake, ON

Day 24: Lake Superior Provincial Park, Wawa, ON

Day 25: Manitoulin Island, ON

Day 26: South Bay Resort South Baymouth, ON to HOME!

Total Hours Driving: 118!


On The Road Topics of Discussion:

I love making up “Would You Rather” questions for my husband and I to answer, and I also love asking him things like “What would be your dream ____ (car? vacation? house? etc).  When I run out of questions to ask I’ll reach for these conversation starter books:

dsc08408

  1. I like making up realistic Would You Rather questions, like “would you rather go to Disney World or the Wizarding World of Harry Potter?” but when I’m feeling like something a bit more goofy, I flip through this Would You Rather 2 book.  They have bizarre questions like “would you rather have worms as fingers or mice as ears” so they’re good for a good laugh, or at least a good eye roll!
  2. Our Q&A a Day 3 Year Journal: I bought this in 2012 (I think) but forgot about it after a few months, so I’ll be packing it for the road trip so I can get back into it!  It’s a really awesome concept; your partner and you answer a different question every day, but what makes this book really unique is that you answer the same questions the following two years.  That way, you get to see how you change as a couple as time goes on!
  3. The Chat Pack:  A bunch of topics of conversation, for when you just can’t think of anything to talk about.

Books to Bring:

Here are the current books on my bookshelf TBR that I think would be perfect for the road trip!

Educational Books:

dsc08401-1

It wouldn’t feel right to go on a cross country Canadian road trip without some Canadian books to read, so here are three I will be taking with me

  1. The Promise of Canada by Charlotte Gray: This is a story all about the 150 years of history of Canada and talks about what it means to be Canadian. Mitch will be reading it front to back, but I might skim it if I get bored (I’m not usually into history books, but being on the road trip might motivate me!)
  2. The Young Birder’s Guide to Birds of North America by Bill Thompson:  Mitch and I went through so many birding books before settling on this one.  We’ve always been interested in the idea of birding, but we are newbies and found that a lot of the birding books out there were just way too complex for us.  They were overwhelming and hard to follow, so in the end we chose this young birders book because it is a great introduction and lays things out in a clean, easy to follow format.
  3. A Good Day’s Work – In Pursuit of a Disappearing Canada by John Demont: This is a history book that actually sounds interesting to me .  It’s described as “a lyrical journey through a semi-mythological place: the Canada of our imagination. It is the Canada of the day before yesterday.” Sounds goods!

Entertaining Books for the Drive:

dsc08403

If I don’t manage to get around to these books in the next few months, they will be coming with me on the journey!  These sound like easy, light reads; perfect for reading while Mitch drives!

  1. Anne of the Island by L.M. Montgomery: I finished book #1 last month, and know I’ll get to #2 before summer, so I’m planning on bringing book #3 with me for the road trip.  Anne is so fun loving and positive, which I think will make the perfect road trip story!
  2. Keeping Safe the Stars by Sheila O’Connor: Not only does this book have the perfect summery cover, but it sounds very interesting too! I haven’t read all of the synopsis (I don’t like getting spoiled), but from what I’ve gathered it’s a story about 3 orphan’s who live with their grandfather.  When the grandfather gets sick and is transported from town, the eldest orphan is left to pick up the pieces.
  3. Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier:  I have no idea what this story is about, but given that it’s a Juliet Marillier story, I’m pretty sure I’ll like it.  Juliet Marillier stories typically have strong character development, a bit of magic and bit of romance. Can’t go wrong, right?

Spooky/Mysterious Books for Around the Campfire:

dsc08395-1

For around the campfire in the evening (wearing my head lamp of course!)  I want to bring some more mysterious/spooky stories.  I don’t know much about these three, but I’ll leave you with the tidbits that I read from the synopsis that made me buy them!

  1. Birth Marked by Caragh M. O’Brien: “In the future, in a world baked dry by the harsh sun, there are those who live inside the walled Enclave and those, like sixteen-year-old Gaia Stone, who live outside.” I stopped reading there, but I’m super curious to read this!
  2. Illusive by Emily Lloyd-Jones: “When the MK virus swept across the planet, a vaccine was created to stop the epidemic, but it came with some unexpected side effects. A small percentage of the population developed superhero-like powers,” I literally stopped reading mid sentence for this once.  I didn’t need to read on, it sounds good already!
  3. One Past Midnight by Jessica Shirvington: “Sabine isn’t like anyone else. For as long as she can remember, she’s had two lives. Every twenty-four hours she “shifts,” living each day twice.” Instantly interested!

Well, that’s what I have planned out so far.  What do you think?  If you’ve been to any of the places marked on my itinerary I would LOVE to hear if you have any suggestions of things to check out!

And that wraps up the LOVE-A-THON!  I had so much fun!  Thank you to Kristin, Alexa, Cee & Mel for being wonderful hosts!

Cheers, Jen from Habitat for Happiness

P.S Toby says thank you for all of the compliments he got on his good looks 😉

dsc08405


3 thoughts on “Love-A-Thon 2017 Challenge #8: On the Road (Trip)

Leave a Reply

